Parkour and Perception

Discuss parkour in general, whatever your location.

Parkour and Perception

Postby Breislin1 » Fri Mar 02, 2012 6:14 pm

Hello Northern Parkour!

I am a Masters student writing a dissertation about Parkour and Perception. I am very interested in how a traçeurs perception of the environment is influenced by the practice of parkour. I would really appreciate your assistance by answering a short questionnaire in as much or little detail as you want. This can either be answered here on the forum or emailed to me at william.breislin@hotmail.co.uk

Thank you kindly! :D

Questionnaire:

What first interested you about parkour?

What do you currently find most rewarding about parkour?

Before you started practising parkour, how did you feel about your environment?

What do you think of now when you look at architecture/ your environment?:
(a) whilst practising parkour?
(b) when going about your every day life?

Has practising parkour affected your every day life? If so:
(a) what changes have you seen in your day to day life (either generally or specific examples)?
(b) what do you think caused this?

Please could you give an example of any experiences with parkour that enabled you to feel as though you had transcended or overcome something in your environment?
(a) What do you think may have caused this “transcendence”?

Unlike skateboarding or BMX, you use your body as an instrument to physically engage with the environment. Do you feel that this has had an impact on how you think about and understand your environment?
Breislin1
Traceur

Re: Parkour and Perception

Postby derrobin » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:02 pm

Hej!

Although I am from Germany and my English is not the best I´ll try to help you with your
dissertation. I try to answer the Questions as comprehensible and appropriate as possible.

Greeting,

Robin

What first interested you about parkour?

I heard about Parkour several Years ago but never had enough interest in it to start.