Keep Training Despite Injury

Discuss parkour in general, whatever your location.

Keep Training Despite Injury

Postby Eddy-Cross » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:35 am

Hello, I have recently recoverd from a broken arm and dislocated wrist on my left arm, after an unfortunate accsident envolving my push bike ... anyway I find myself missing parkour and i was wondering if there is any kind of training i could do that whouldnt need my left arm to much. i can bend it slightly at the wrist and the elbow is fine, im fairly new to the practice having only found parkour last summer (2010) anyway any advice whould be deeply apreciated, and i cant wait to get back out and jumping, running, climing all over again after my six weeks of phisio :) Also I whould like to know how much of a risk is continuing training despite the handicap, i hope this will spark intresting conversation and help me out :)
thanks people :) Eddy X
"I've Lost My Fear Of Falling" - Gerard Way :)
Eddy-Cross
Traceur

Re: Keep Training Despite Injury

Postby Dave » Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:17 am

Injured areas need to rest in order to heal, and if you keep using them they won't heal properly and will give you lasting problems. If you want to be fit and healthy in the future, don't go doing challenging things with injured body parts.

You can still train while injured, but you need to find obstacles that you can get past without using your injured area. More importantly, they also need to be obstacles where you won't be tempted to use your injured area even if you make a mistake.
~ Dave

Trying to be a helping hand from NorthernParkour and the British Parkour Coaching Association
Dave
Alliance

Postby Eddy-Cross » Tue Sep 27, 2011 4:52 pm