Parkour and photography

Discuss parkour in general, whatever your location.

Parkour and photography

Postby Dave » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:11 pm

I was asked to write a short piece detailing a Parkour perspective on photography, with a personal intro bit tacked on to the start. In case anyone else is interested, here it is.

---------------

My name is David Sedgley and I'm a Parkour practitioner. I was a professional Parkour coach for 5 years and have been Chairman of the British Parkour Coaching Association for 7 years. I helped set up the Northern Parkour community back in 2004, and in 2007 developed the UK's first Parkour coaching qualification. Since the BPCA's coaching paradigm shifted in 2010 I've been developing an improved system for teaching and learning Parkour, a task that has taken a lot of time and is still not complete. I've given talks, taught in various circumstances, and at times I am an active participant in online Parkour communities however most of my teaching at the moment takes place in the three regular sessions I attend in Sheffield each week.
My goal is to find a way for everyone who wants to practise Parkour to be able to do so. I am in favour of things that help accomplish this goal, such as discussions, studies and accurate education. I am against anything which makes this task harder, including consumerism, commercial media, competition and all other forms of misinformation.
Parkour is my main interest. It's a great training discipline with clear ideas and principles that makes a huge difference to people's lives. Freerunning is also a good concept, the idea of doing anything if it will help you progress. However it tries to be a lot more subjective and so it is a difficult subject to discuss and explain, beyond the basic concept.